Agent orange found in lake.

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cascadian

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
https://www.oregonlive.com/environm...e-intact-in-wallowa-lake-recovery-effort.html

This is my first time pasting an article.

Skip to Article

1. ENVIRONMENT
U.S. EPA finds 18 barrels, some intact, in Wallowa Lake recovery effort
Updated Jun 14, 2019;Posted Jun 14, 2019

0 shares
By Rob Davis | The Oregonian/OregonLive

A remotely operated underwater vehicle identified 18 barrels at the bottom of Wallowa Lake Friday, including at least one bearing a label that says it contains one of the two defoliants used in Agent Orange.

An unspecified number were intact; others had rusted out.

A contractor for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency was still assessing the drums late Friday, with divers working between 90 and 120 feet below the alpine lake’s surface to conduct detailed visual and tactile inspections of the intact barrels.

Divers working for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency preparing Friday to inspect barrels at the bottom of Wallowa Lake. (Courtesy/Oregon Department of Environmental Quality)

State and federal officials said there is no evidence that the drums that are intact are currently leaking. The EPA and Oregon Department of Environmental Quality said in a joint news release that the drums’ labels indicate they were produced for commercial use, not the military.

There’s no way to know what happened to the contents of barrels that rusted out -- or whether they were empty when they were put in the lake. Old barrels were often used as floats for docks and when weighed down as anchors.