Anyone running Linux?

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JAC

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
I have to say that after buying a new computer that utilizes Win10 I hate it and am considering using Linux to get away from the Win systems completely. Frankly I'm sick and tired of Microsoft politics and their need to spy on us all and decide what we should and shouldn't do. Is anyone here running Linux? I have some questions that maybe someone more familiar with Linux could advise me on.

I've never ran Linux. But my laptop died last week, I just got a new one Monday. I went with a Chromebook. Suppose to be imune from virus and such. We shall see. I don't use this one for much other than reading and internet.

I've been running Linux Mint for several months. So glad to get away from all the Windows 10 invasiveness. The GUI is an easy switch from windows, at least in the "Cinnamon" version.

Reactions: JAC
I have a BS and MS in computer engineering, use Linux extensively at work and for my doctoral research, and used to teach a college course "Intro to Linux and Windows" back when I had time to be an adjunct. I suspect I can field about any question you have, so ask away!

I'm a bit concerned about software compatibility and my printers, scanners etc. I also use photoshop quite a bit. From what I am reading the freeware that runs as a photoshop replacement is not up to par with photoshop. If I make this transition then there will be other computers in my household that also will need to make the transition that are used for gaming, animation creation etc. Will games that have been purchased and many other software that is being used by family members be usable in Linux?