Common grammatical errors

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Weedygarden

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
I have thought about a thread such as this for many years. Some people may be irritated by just the topic. I don't want to be correcting anyone, but just want to discuss what we know is correct or not, and to maybe understand errors that many of us make or are common. I make grammatical errors and over the years have learned about some of my errors and corrected them. I am far for perfect, but don't we want to be the best we can be? Using good grammar makes us sound not smart.

Correcting others online is considered troll behavior. That is one of the reasons I won't correct someone here or other places. I'm not trying to be a troll, ever.

I am a retired teacher and some people think teachers are never fully retired. I felt it was my responsibility, as a teacher, for my students to know the correct words to use and would help them to understand those terms. I usually brought these up in group discussions and let them give examples. Then when they misused the words or terms, I would review with them the correct term and have them repeat themselves. We learn grammatical errors in our speech from our parents and family, and in turn we teach it to our children and descendants. Has anyone else noticed that correct usage is declining.

In the midst of that, I had a couple of assistants who didn't understand that if they used the wrong term or anything, that was what the children learned, and it becomes a part of their usage. Sometimes it is not easy for an adult to help another adult change something they say or do, or to help them understand that when you work with young children, you have to be and do the best you can.