Curing & Smoking meat

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Roo

Super Friend
Neighbor
I don’t have much experience in it but it’s something I’d love to get going. Any tips? Tricks? DIY projects/set ups? Good books? Common mistakes? Favorite recipes/blends?

I’d find any comments interesting. Thanks in advance.

I am not into curing, but I smoke a lot of meat (and I love it!).

I am not a pro by any means, but I have learned a few things over the years and get more praise than dirty looks when I slap some pork on a plate. First tip is keep track of what you did, how you did it, what you did it with, and what changes you want to make next time. Eventually that notebook will produce some amazing recipes for you. You can read all about smoking meats but hands on experience is a better teacher. Another tip is not to skip the prep work. Get that meat seasoned, rubbed, brined, injected, etc. long before you plan to smoke it. Also let it warm up to room temp before you get your smoke on. Then when you are done smoking it, rest it. Resting is as important as the prep work.

No experience from me, but two things to mention.
Lots of Mesquite smoking done here in Texas. Mm mm, Aunt Bea you've done it again! I LOVE that smell AND the taste is out of this world.
Second, a late ex bro in law had a little smokehouse he built for smoking fish, he fished all the time. I loved that too. It caught fire once. That's all. Lol

I am not into curing, but I smoke a lot of meat (and I love it!).