Hydroponics. Where to start?

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wallerville

Super Friend
Neighbor
Hi, my name is Rick or Wallerville as my screen name indicates. I have been doing hydroponics for many years. Initially I got into it because I'm a chemist and I wanted to mix my own chemicals to make nutrients. My only reasoning behind that has to do with me being a nerd rather than some secretly hidden agenda.

I have used many types of hydroponic systems both outdoors, in my greenhouse, and in my indoor grow room. (Real men have man caves, chemical nerds have hydroponic grow rooms.)

Of late, since becoming a Penn State Certified Master Gardener, I have been helping local schools set up hydroponic systems for the students to learn from. Since most of these schools are on tight budgets, I have been working with a design I have become fond of using 2 liter soda bottles and inexpensive PVC pipe to make a simple, affordable system to help newcomers get there feet we so to speak.

I have no idea of what level of exposure the members here have to hydroponics so I'm not really sure where to start. So what I'll do is post a photo of the home made soda bottle system that fed the wife and me lettuce all winter from the greenhouse. Then, if anyone is interested we can have some discussions. Please note, I do not see myself as an end all source for hydroponics knowledge, just someone who has done it for a long time and had excellent results.

Attachments

• 16BD2F0E-E09F-4C30-801E-A875C421D975.jpeg
    16BD2F0E-E09F-4C30-801E-A875C421D975.jpeg
    892.4 KB · Views: 1