I fear I may have done something stupid

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AK Joseph

Super Friend
Neighbor
Which is really par for the course with me. I love to learn the hard way, get thrown in the fire, fed to the wolves, whatever you call it, that’s how I learn best. I didn’t know a thing about chickens 3 years ago, I now have 23.

I have never raised meat birds either. I bought 20 of them from a friend a couple years ago but they were finished and I just had to butcher them.

I just bought 60 Red Ryder broiler chicks, due in late May and I’m pretty sure I’m in over my head 🤪 which is fine, I live for a good challenge!

I need plans y’all, Hep me! There is no way I am going to keep 60 birds stationary. I plan on moving them every day for 3 months. Problem, I’ve never built a tractor before, so I’m trying to think of something heavy duty enough to support 30 birds,no way 60 is fitting into one, not sure 30 will either.

I was thinking maybe a couple of shelter logic tents, could just weld a couple of handles and a couple of wheel mounts and that’s that. Quite an investment but they should last a good while.

I can’t really free range them on my one acre as I’m sure they will get loose and I have neighborhood dogs in the yard regularly. I don’t have one myself in order to keep them out.

I’m planting a new sweet clover cover crop in the yard, I figure I will move them, wait a couple weeks and then plant more seed. If I move them everyday they won’t have time to kill everything completely but they will turn it up quite well and fertilize it. I just wonder if it will be too hot to plant on even after two weeks.

Anyone have experience with raising a good quantity of meat birds in a tractor?