I need a new light weight tiller!

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alaskajohn

Bugged out
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
Long story short, the old tiller that I have been hoping would die for the past 5-6 years finally died beyond my desire to fix it after a good 25 year run. I have been mending each each year, but this time it died fortunately after digging the beds this season. But I am done with it and I don't want to fix what just broke this time as it will cost money to order the parts. It was too heavy and big anyway as it was designed for the traditional non-raised bed gardens that we are moving towards.

I need a lightweight tiller that can still dig deep, but can be something my wife and I can use hopefully for the next 20 years as we age beyond traditional retirement years. About 50% of the intended use will be for same fairly large raised beds where the soil is deep. Other uses would be to clear out the ground for new beds and other such work. For my wife to use it, it should be light. I want it powerful enough to till some tough top soil as we add new raised beds each year. I found one that I am thinking about that appear to be light enough and can dig deep enough.

How about the below Mantis 4 cycle tiller weighing 20 lbs with the ability to dig 10 inches deep? I wish it were bigger, but then my wife wouldn't use it and as I age, I may not enjoy the bigger ones. Any others less than $500 about the same weight and depth that I should consider?