Im Tincturing My Butt Off...........

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jazzy

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
ive enjoyed making differetnt types of herbal remedies over the years, im no expert but i have my favorites, whether salves, oil, teas or tinctures.

in light of the seemingly negative economic implications lately, prices rising and shortages, i ve been tincturing my butt off..

elderberry tincture
spaz-ez tincture
skullcap tincture
pine needle tincture
cannabis tincture
migraine relief tincture
essiac tea tincture
st johns & kava kava
toothache plant tincture

do you guys have any favorites you use and are stocking up on before we cant afford to make it anymore?

The only tincture that I have used (to the best of my recollection) is tincture of Benzoin. It works very well to keep bandaids stuck to places they tend to fall off from. Like on a fingertip cut. Stains your skin brownish/yellowish though. I have no idea how to make it though - I just buy it at the pharmacy.

The only tincture that I have used (to the best of my recollection) is tincture of Benzoin. It works very well to keep bandaids stuck to places they tend to fall off from. Like on a fingertip cut. Stains your skin brownish/yellowish though. I have no idea how to make it though - I just buy it at the pharmacy.
The only tincture I ever used was this one:
018.011.007p1.jpg

I don't think you can make it unless you can get your hands on some iodine crystals, (which I actually had at one time decades ago:oops:).

Last edited:
I make elderberry bloom tincture, what part do you use? Lets see... elder, monarda, yarrow, sida, poke root, yellow root, usnea, catnip, lemonbalm, plantain, joe pye, boneset, crossvine, those are the plants folks might recognize. I also dry various plants.