Is Mossberg a quality shotgun?

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Some folks swear by Cummins, I've just always had better luck with CAT engines... that 470hp CAT 3406E was a good motor, mine would pull a grade as well as a 500, lol. Great on overall fuel economy too, the 500s, 550s, etc, all sucked fuel like it was going outta style. I liked that 470 CAT, it was a good motor, fairly easy to work on too... :cool:
Cats were the best. Most costly too. Cummins were much better than Detroit, less costly than a Cat. Good compromise.

Yeah, the CAT name tended to jack up the price... but I was a company driver at the time, and that assigned truck was rigged with the CAT. The truck itself was an International (another middle-of-the-road make) and it only had a 'Straight 10' transmission, but the truck had a double bunk sleeper and it only had 11K miles on the odometer when I climbed into it, lol. Barely run in, ya might say. I had a lot of good times in that truck, and the long runs we made with that particular outfit were moneymakers. My favorite run was a 6000-mile triangle from CA-PA-GA-CA, 21 states in all. :cool:

P.S. If I were to buy a truck today, I'd want a CAT motor with a 13-speed transmission, that would suit me just fine... ;)

Edit: We'd better get back on topic before Supe gives us grief, lol... Mossberg shotguns & big trucks don't mix! Come to think of it, most big trucks would make poor choices for drive-by shootings: "0 to 60 in half an hour!" :oops:

Last edited:
Edit: We'd better get back on topic before Supe gives us grief, lol... Mossberg shotguns & big trucks don't mix! Come to think of it, most big trucks would make poor choices for drive-by shootings: 0 to 60 in half an hour! :oops:
I was actually going to go in the other direction.
Being a degreed diesel-mechanic, I worked on every one of those.