Looking for "Bar Soap" that rinses with cold water.

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sourdough

"Eleutheromaniac"
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
In a cabin, on a mountain, in "Wilderness" Alaska.
I think it has been more then 30'ish years I last purchased a bar of soap. But looking to do exactly that. I am looking for a "Just Plain Soap Bar" that will rinse off with cold water. It does not need to make me "small" nice, look handsome, youthful, sexy, or semi-intelligent. It only needs to clean and then rinse off with cold water.

Actually do they make a "dish soap" that comes in a bar. I have been using liquid dish soap for washing my body for about 40 years, because it rinses with cold water.

Grandpa Pine Tar soap covers everything from head to toe, hair included. Rinses squeaky clean in cold water.

https://www.vitacost.com/the-grandpa-soap-co-pine-tar-bar-soap-original
It smells a little like pine until you rinse it off, then everything smells fresh and clean. Love it for camping, too.

I love their charcoal one too, which is great for itchamacallits (bug bites, rashes, etc.). Rinses very well in cold water, too.

https://www.vitacost.com/the-grandpa-soap-co-face-and-body-bar-soap-charcoal-detoxify

Last edited:
I would go with plain old Ivory soap. Been around for nearly 150 years, so they must be doing something right. Invented by Harley Procter (does that name ring a bell?) to be used on the whole body by the whole family. I would say it is time tested.

There are all kinds of bar dish soaps out there but they are really over priced. You can see a small corner of that market over at Grove Collaborative. Over priced but they have some interesting ideas.