Mastitis?

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thankful_k

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
Total newbie with goats ... Mom is about 36 hours post partum, two kids, both are "okay", not terribly active though. Her udder seems fairly big, and her teats do not look like the other goat's, much longer and thicker. When the kids go to nurse mom pushes them away with her foot. I got her cornered in the barn (none of the goats let me near them) and while she would let me put my hand on her back, just barely touching the teat would cause her to swing her horns at my hand. Even bit at me once.

image1(3).jpeg
image0(7).jpeg

I'm glad Pearl spoke up... in all my years working with beef cattle I've never seen mastitis. An adjoining farm was a diary. Heard my neighbor speak about it in his holstein herd occasionally.

It's been treated naturally for millennia, if interested I've put a great book on treating livestock naturally for a wide range of issues. It's by Juliette de Bairacli Levy, a renowned veterinarian. It was written long ago but is still applicable today.

For mastitis in goats... the Levy book mentions feeding her lots of garlic and ginger (both have antibacterial properties).

Also I use a species of juniper as a general tonic anytime I have chickens or cattle that are sick or injured. Goat owners recommended it to me, one friend has used it for decades. Does wonders for the over all health of farm critters. Horses, cattle, deer and goats will take a bite of juniper from time to time. The small trees grow at the edges of my pastures etc.

This link is to a post I made on juniper, in it is a link to the Levy book and other great plant medicine books.

https://www.homesteadingforum.org/threads/cedar-oil-of-cedar.9869/