Need Help identifying insects.

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TonyDell

Super Friend
Neighbor
The other day, I posted a question about pesticide advice. Thank you again for all your replies and help.

However, I am not sure how to refer to the specific insects I am targeting.

Here is a video:

They look like ants but are not. and they grow into small flies.

In a google search, do you search for "gnats natural pesticide', "baby drain flies natural pesticide", "baby fruit flies"? How do you refer to them when they are still in this stage, no wings yet".

Note: Unfortunately, I have a weak stomach; so there is no need to post additional insect images.

I'm no expert but they look like fruit flies to me. I've trapped them in the past with a bowl/container with some apple cider vinegar and a little dish soap. I put cling wrap on the bowl with a small opening cut in it so they get in (attracted to the vinegar) but can't find their way back out.

It really is hard to see them, but they might be carpenter ants. I saw some recently in my yard, winged ants of some sort, in an area where I've had wooden landscaping timbers eaten by something.

I'm no expert but they look like fruit flies to me. I've trapped them in the past with a bowl/container with some apple cider vinegar and a little dish soap. I put cling wrap on the bowl with a small opening cut in it so they get in (attracted to the vinegar) but can't find their way back out.
thanks.
How would one refer to fruit flies that haven't developed wings yet, like these? are they "baby flies", "gnats"?
having difficulty telling google what to look for.

It really is hard to see them, but they might be carpenter ants. I saw some recently in my yard, winged ants of some sort, in an area where I've had wooden landscaping timbers eaten by something.
TY.