Pellet stove recommends

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I've been using a pellet stove for twenty years . I've had two different makes . Englander was the first one and now I have a Comfortbuilt .
Both medium priced (both under $1800. delivered ) I know several people that have spent between $3000 to $4000. and they don't burn any better , your paying for ornate fancy stuff . I buy functional. At first my wife hated it until she got use to that nice steady heat now she can't live without it. I'm in the northeast and it gets cold here . Has 6 settings and I never have it above number 2, keeps the 1350 square ft, house 75 F .
1672105657921.png

Last edited:
I have always been curious about why a pellet stove and not a wood burning stove? What happens if you can't find any pellets to buy? Can you burn wood in it?
you can't t burn wood. if your thinking of buying a pellet stove just make sure there are several places to buy them . I buy 4 ton at a time

We have had a pellet stove for over 20 years.
The first one was an insert in a zero clearance fireplace and it was a huge improvement.
We changed that one out for a natural gas insert and it was so much more convenient.
Where we live now natural gas is not an option.
I prefer pellet over wood because I don't have a source to get wood other than to buy it and the firewood prices are high.
Last year I bought 2 tons of pellets and heated the house all winter for less than $600 for pellets and another $200 for propane which we use very little.

Pros of pellets.

Readably available.
Easy to handle.
The heat can be controlled.
They can be connected to a thermostat.
Easy to start and you get heat within a few minutes.
You don't have to stoke the fire multiple time a day.
It will run all night.