Plans for Goats this Winter/Spring

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thankful_k

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
So I have 4 Spanish-Boer female goats (pictured). I want to either borrow (or more realistically buy, then sell off) a buck to get them pregnant, and get kids in March. This is my first year with goats.

I am walling off a bay (approx 16x16) in the barn to put kidding pens. However, since I have a dirt floor, I wanted to elevate the pens. My solution (as of now) is to make them with pallet-like bottoms, 1/2in plywood floor with rubber mats on top, dimensions are 3.5 ft wide x 4 ft deep with three plywood walls (2 sides and back) at 3.5 ft high. This way I can move them around individually if need be, and get them through the 4ft door of the compartment on a hand truck without disassembling them. I can have 5 or six pens in my space. That's great ... but the pens will be a bit small.

The other option is to build the more recommended 5x6 pens over a semi-permanent platform floor, underneath which will soon be opened the North Texas Rat & Snake Country Club😳, and a really great place for the (goat) kids to crawl under and get stuck 🤬 But then again that may also happen with the other type of pens. This way, I'll only be able to fit *MAYBE* 4 pens in the whole place, more likely only three.

Thoughts?

Attachments

• image0(5).jpeg
    image0(5).jpeg
    96.1 KB · Views: 2
Do you know others who have goats? Is that what they have done? Used pallets? Why can’t you leave the dirt “floor” as is and top it with hay? I’d be concerned that the goats would want to rearrange things and they would move the rubber mats elsewhere.