Propane transfer system question

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angie_nrs

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
This is a topic brought up in another thread. I have an attachment that I can fill the small green propane tanks from a 20# tank. However, I would like to find a solution to filling a 20 or 30# tank from a larger propane pig. I'm a complete novice in this area but I think if I had the supplies, hubs could figure it out. It's just not my forte'. Here is a pic from a different thread.

1645389372074.png

It's post 77 from this thread
https://www.homesteadingforum.org/threads/you-have-12-hours-notice.11498/
If anyone could give any tips or suggestions on exactly what to buy, where to buy it, and how to do it, I would appreciate it!

Something like this could come in handy even if a person didn't have a full pig to draw from. If you had the abiltiy to do it, I'm sure lots of folks would be willing to trade some propane if you could put it in a smaller tank for them so that they could actually use it with their propane grills and such. Many people may have a full pig with no idea how to utilize the propane in it if the grid went down.

Here's what I could find.
I wanted to connect my motorhome to my 500 gallon home tank.
The propane company told me they would not do it and if I did and they wouldn't fill my 500 gallon tank.