Severe "PAIN MEDICATION" education requested.

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sourdough

"Eleutheromaniac"
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
In a cabin, on a mountain, in "Wilderness" Alaska.
So........I am wishing to see a list of "all" medications for pain, listed in descending order, with clear identification of those requiring a prescription vs. over the counter.

This would be for my "Trauma Kit" and non-trauma needs post SHTF.
Would be good to also know which are best for long-term storage.

(I had this solved when I was an active Commercial Bush Pilot) Those day are over.

Aspirin, Ibuprofen, and Tylenol are legal to carry as long as they are in their original containers. Prescription drugs with their labels intact and are prescribed for you by a doctor are legal. Some herbal meds are legal in some areas and not in others so you have to be careful about those.

Due to the legal risk of carrying narcotics without prescriptions, I won't even go there. I do carry something like the below for topical pain relief, and something also for topical dental pain. 800 mg ibuprofen is also a good dose for pain relief. When I have had post surgical pain I declined opioids and took 800 mg ibuprofen and did fine. Unless you need its for severe trauma, long bone fractures, end of life care for certain conditions, etc, opioids are overprescribed and overrated, IMHO.