Understanding Narcissism and Narcissists

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Weedygarden

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
In the old place, I started a thread about narcissism, and I know that some people had a realization about people in their lives being narcissists. Narcissism is very complex and I plan on eventually talking about many aspects of it. I am no psychologist or trained therapist. I do have some hours in psychology from college, and I have read a lot about narcissists and narcissism. I am far from an expert, but I do have some experience with narcissists.

We all know narcissists. Does it matter if someone we know is a narcissist? It matters if they attack you, seek to hurt you, seek to damage your relationships with others.

Why do I care about narcissism? Because it took me 50 + years of my life to realize that I come from a family of narcissists. My grandmother, some aunts and uncles, some cousins and two of my siblings are narcissists.

There are strategies for dealing with narcissists, depending on your goal for your relationship with them. I belong to a few groups about narcissism. The most active group I belong to is about narcissistic mothers. While men can be narcissists, it is the narcissistic mother (NM) who is most known about. Narcissistic women in general are very competitive. They go after other women that they see as a threat to their perceived status. Narcissistic women flirt, connive, and reel in men for their own benefit. They are slick, manipulative, duplicitous, and have no feelings or concerns about those they engage with.