CB Radio - home base question

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HelloWalls

Try that in a small town
Neighbor
Hello ladies and gentlemen,

I recently came to have a Cobra 25 LTD Classic CB radio, and I have power for it within my home. I have purchased a Maco 5/8 Wave Antenna and will be assembling and mounting this to an exterior wall. I was wondering, as I am a newbie with CB radio and bought the antenna after a few too many; how do I connect my CB radio to this antenna? I assume utilizing coax cable, but I was wondering if someone who knows more than I could shed some light on thjis for me. Thnx

H.W.

That would typically require RG58 coax cable with UHF PL259 Male connectors at both ends. There is a large connector on the back of your base station and an identical one on your antenna. When ordering the cable you need to order one that is long enough to be routed from your base station to the antenna fitting without having too much slack, but definitely not too short. Be sure to order cable the the PL259 Male connectors, there are BNC connectors but they won't work for your application.

That would typically require RG58 coax cable with UHF PL259 Male connectors at both ends. There is a large connector on the back of your base station and an identical one on your antenna. When ordering the cable you need to order one that is long enough to be routed from your base station to the antenna fitting without having too much slack, but definitely not too short. Be sure to order cable the the PL259 Male connectors, there are BNC connectors but they won't work for your application.
So the issue I'm running into is (mind you it is not fully assembled yet) but my antenna doesn't seem to have a female portion for that cable ending