Farm dogs/heelers/livestockuardians

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aster44

Friend
Neighbor
I'm not a real dog person. I'm new to dogs, really. Have two atm. One I adopted a baby heeler mix months ago. He ate a chicken. Which I would assume natural. He was yelled at. Etc. N the chicken was taken away. Wondering if anyone has knowledge on this subject bc it seems to me that you can't really think any breed of farm dog including Pyrenees would be incapable of eating a fresh meal. Is it true that Pyrenees and other guardians don't want to kill and eat chicken? I'd like to learn more about dogs, primarily farming and draft dogs. What to expect. How much I can expect with training etc. My heeler dog is a great pet, friend n individual. He also is very very smart. And knows he cannot bother the birds. He's improved already. Obviously I don't trust him left alone with them. I love heelers. 🙂 he isn't from a top bloodline or anything. Just a local farmer who has two heelers, a blue and a red. They live as friends together. So when I got him (and I know it's weird I got him when I had chickens) I didn't have any strong expectations. His owners exact words about his parents were "they're useful sometimes".

You can train him to leave the chickens alone, it just takes work. We have an old blue heeler. He is nearly blind and mostly deaf, and I don't expect him to last long. His name is Chookie. He's been a really good dog. Our neighbor's dog is a poultry killer. It took out around 15 of our guineas. The other neighbor has an extremely well trained shepherd. It's a working dog, and she is amazing. She doesn't go after fowl, which is good, because she comes onto our property from time to time. She helps with his horses and his cows.