Howdy

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RedDogRodeo

New Friend
Neighbor
Hello! I was recently blessed to buy a rural home on 5 acres. I have some experience with goats, rabbits, and chickens - and a short stint with a bottle calf - but I'm currently focused on learning all I can about raising a Jersey heifer for milk and calves. My other focus is meat rabbits, a handful of which I currently own and am also interested in learning more about. I've been considering turkeys, too, in the future, but hey - one thing at a time, right? Said no homesteader ever.

Welcome from Eastern Missouri. Good to have you with us. :welcome:

Greetings from the west end of Lake Superior..

My limited experience with meat rabbits was with some New Zealand and Chinchilla... This worked well enough resulting in many quarts of plain and smoked cubed boneless meat that went well in many recipes..

As turkeys go, it seemed they were easier to buy in season more cheaply than raise.. My favorite being a homemade ...Tiger... smoked sausage... Equal parts goose, rabbit, turkey meat.. Ground, spiced with a breakfast sausage mix, smoked to well done internal temp.. Eaten as a sausage, cheese, cracker, hot tea type snack..

Tim, thanks for your input! I'm a big fan of NZ rabbits - they're hardy, adaptable and proficient breeders. And I'll definitely look into that with turkeys; I've been deliberating it quite a bit since it seems they require a lot more effort and planning than your typical backyard chickens. That sounds delicious, though... now you're making me hungry!

And I'll definitely look into that with turkeys; I've been deliberating it quite a bit since it seems they require a lot more effort and planning than your typical backyard chickens
= = =