Museum of appalachia norris tenn

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

randyt

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
I was at the museum of appalachia and came across this old herbalist's display

Attachments

• 20231007_145128.jpg
    20231007_145128.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 4
I’ve never heard of this place!
Where is it?
Sounds and looks like a place I’d like to visit
Take I75 north of Knoxville to the Clinton Exit, I think its 122. Low 120s for sure, next exit past Racoon Valley. Take a right at the exit and its maybe 2 to 4 miles on the left. Real close to Norris dam as well.

I am very curious about these herbal remedies. How many of them really work? I worked in the Pharmaceutical industry for nearly 20 years. I saw the advent of GMP's, Good Manufacturig Practices, mandated by the FDA, and the term "Safe and Efficatious" was beaten into me like religion. Before drugs hit the market they have to be tested, usually for many years, and they have to work ALL of the time.

Anybody have experience with how these homemade remedies work?

I am very curious about these herbal remedies. How many of them really work? I worked in the Pharmaceutical industry for nearly 20 years. I saw the advent of GMP's, Good Manufacturig Practices, mandated by the FDA, and the term "Safe and Efficatious" was beaten into me like religion. Before drugs hit the market they have to be tested, usually for many years, and they have to work ALL of the time.

Anybody have experience with how these homemade remedies work?
Morgan, I have used a lot of herbal preparations, as have quite a few others here. Sometimes herbs are used raw, other times in combination with other herbs. There are a lot of first person examples here on the forum of herbs used and for what purpose, and the end result.