Discuss "LEASING" a Survival property.

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sourdough

"Eleutheromaniac"
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
In a cabin, on a mountain, in "Wilderness" Alaska.
Yes, the transaction would need to be in place before SHTF. So, I have been thinking about this for a few months. My instant first thought is that it is a stupid concept. But maybe it is not totally stupid. Whether you own it or rent it, find it and take control, the largest recuring problems are the same. If you own it, but you can't stop others from taking it. If you lose control what difference is ownership or lease hold. It could be raw unimproved small lot or acreage. Could be leasing the hunting rights, and the right to build a 20' X 24' hunting shack.

I have been banging my head against this concept for quite a few years. We currently house share our house and have had people live on our property when we had a nice remote place.
the hard part is finding someone who is on the same track.....such as what plan of any do they have in mind if things go totally crazy.
On the surface it would make sense to gather a few good people who see the need to have a place to go and maybe already have a small cabin already set up. That way they could keep their town job and build up supplies etc. Then if things get bad they everyone would know each other and already have worked out the simple stuff.
Call it a hunting lease, a shared garden spot or whatever fits your local.
It seems most things I have promoted or been invoved in it works better if everyone contributes for the common good. Or if you have the property all involved need to pay a fee for the use of the property.
This spring I am putting in a RV spot and hope to find some good people who would be assets to continuing to survive and thrive.