Linux technical user manuals

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peanut

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
Well, this definitely falls under technical information! Thought it'd go here instead of the library.

A year ago I finally gave windows the boot and switched to Linux. I’ve had to load or reload the OS several times, new pc, laptop, but… loading software doesn’t show or teach how an OS really works. (I'm a geek and an engineer, double cursed, have to know how something works.)

I know frustratingly little about Mint. What I do know is scattered bits and pieces. Pieces so disjointed I still don’t see Mint works. It’s been almost 25yrs since I used command line entry for work, I don’t remember much despite having used such OS’s for 2 decades.

So I broke down and bought a couple books. “The Linux Command Line” by Shotts and “Linux Pocket Guide” by Barrett.

The pocket guide is an O’Reilly book. They’ve had great computer books for years, even back in the 90’s I owned several. The “Missing Manual” series was great, a must for power users and engineers. We kept several at the office, saved my butt more than once. This one is laid out really well and gives the “down an dirty” they are known for.

The other one… I spent an entire afternoon reading technical book reviews. Gave me a headache. I find technical manuals interesting, opinions about them - not so much.

I settled on this one because it starts at the beginning, the command line. I read the first 3 chapters today, learned more about Linux than in the past year. I’m already starting to remember a few things, shake off the cobwebs. The book gives context to the 100’s of commands lost in my old mind. Remembering a command and what it does are two different things after all these years.

Books OReilly a.JPG
Book Linux a.JPG