Long term, unstable, threats.

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aerindel

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
I have always viewed fire as my biggest threat. I live on a wooded, steep hillside, bordering hundreds of square miles of wild-land.

I have made extensive preparations, stucco buildings, sprinkler systems, etc. Some clearing of land, but not as much as I could as I view the uncleared land as having opsec value. I am also a firefighter, and equipped with full firefighting gear, including SCBA's

But I ran into a huge, life evaluating problem when I faced it for real.

Fires are unpredictable.

This summer I faced a massive forest fire, started about a mile from my place (I saw it only minutes after it started)

For about 50 days, I was threatened by it. On four separate days, the fire made runs, that had they been in my direction, would have reached me in about 30 minutes if they had been in my direction. One occasion, was in my direction, but was stopped by the firefighters fire line, about half a mile away.

What I have been struggling with ever since, is trying to rework my plans for a long term, but unstable threat. Which I realize is really important, because even if its not a fire, it will probably be true, of most SHTFs.

This is a complex, multifaceted issue, which most 'sound bite' prepping doesn't apply to.

To understand the full issue, this is the brief of what happened.

It was the day after an exhausting camping trip. I was outside, unloading the War Wagon ( a camper I built). I felt like crap.

It was 95º, overcast, and windy. Wife and kid where playing in the stock tank (red neck pool)

I had slept most of the day, so it was about 5 PM I was moving slowly, unpacking the coolers, etc.

"I don't like this" I told my wife.

A few minutes later, I heard a single, loud crack of thunder.