What is it worth? Manure wood chip mix

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

INresponse

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
I have plenty of well aged, rained and snowed upon, chicken poop, and I have my wood chipper that makes rather small wood chips. If I mix it together with water in a repurposed cement mixer would it be desirable for a garden and what would be a fair price for a 5 gallon bucket?
Our girls empty the “poop shelf” into a pile in the yard, most of which was out all winter. The wood chips are about 1 inch square and about an 1/8” thick. I put them in equal amounts into the mixer and add water so it is just a but sloshy and mix for an hour or so. I have been using this kind of mixture for about 4 years and never burned or killed a plant. I want to sell it in the neighborhood but would $3.00 a 5 gallon bucket be reasonable? Would this be of interest to other gardeners?

Attachments

• EA2DEDDA-35E4-4C47-9ECA-284F4C125CC4.jpeg
    EA2DEDDA-35E4-4C47-9ECA-284F4C125CC4.jpeg
    2.8 MB · Views: 5
  • 908B6819-F90A-4674-9757-B565D446FC7F.jpeg
    908B6819-F90A-4674-9757-B565D446FC7F.jpeg
    4.5 MB · Views: 0
  • CC3B8344-88E4-4D70-B0E7-90EC0E1E20BA.jpeg
    CC3B8344-88E4-4D70-B0E7-90EC0E1E20BA.jpeg
    3.8 MB · Views: 0
  • 207488D1-2D2E-4630-B485-E011D71889D3.jpeg
    207488D1-2D2E-4630-B485-E011D71889D3.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
If the wood chips were well composted like the poop, that would be a very useful mix. Everything I have read says wood chips need a few years to compost before using in gardens.

As for manure value, you may want to check your area to see what it's going for. E.g. Craigslist.
Around here, aged manure goes for around $10/tractor bucket load or $75-100 for a dump truck load.