Another Newbie

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tsrwivey

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
HCL Supporter
I'm another long time PS member late on the mass exodus. We've been preppers for 10 years which has led us to homesteading. We live in east Texas, we have 3 kids & 3 others we helped raise & count as ours, & 3 perfect grandbabies. Two kids are still at home, a 5 yo son & a 20yo son with multiple major medical needs who will forever act like a happy 3 yo. Hubby is a builder, I'm a pediatric nurse but am a full time mom & Mimi currently. Our grown kids live close & we see them at least a few times a week. We are long time homeschoolers & are very active in that community.

So far, we have moved to our 20 acres on the river where we are living in a very small 2 bedroom apartment with an attached shop. We built the shop/apartment ourselves debt free (mainly hubby) & recycled a lot of supplies he salvaged off of jobs. We sold our old house & will have enough money to build the new house debt free as well.

The barn has a floor, roof, & 2 sides so far. We have ten chickens in a coop & enclosed area, we've had chickens for a little over a year now. We have a small garden area with some raised beds but the rest of the future garden needs leveled. So far, we can grow beautiful, nice sized purple sweet potatoes & an over abundance of orange cucumbers. :). We plan on getting rabbits, building a fish/duck pond & a greenhouse, & maybe goats or miniature cows. We have two growing seasons here but we didn't plant a fall garden this year, it's just been nonstop crazy busy this year.

I look forward to meeting y'all & hearing about your projects, progress, successes, & learning opportunities!

I'm glad you came over. I was surprised I was able to slip my email into a PM to you without getting my hand slapped.